Living out of a Backpack











{July 27, 2006}   Flights and Arrival

I made it to Africa!  Yeah!  There were a few bumps along the way but everything turned out fine.

My flights went very well.  I got an aisle seat on both my flight to Amsterdam and the second flight to Nairobi.  Both planes had the cool personal tv’s and they actually had some pretty good meals too.  (I was quite shocked!  I had a vegetarian curry and a different meal of naan flatbread with a chicken curry inside.  How did I get so lucky as to have 2 Indian meals in 1 day?)

Anyways, once I arrived in Nairobi and got my bags I had a mini panic attack.  One of the organizers of the volunteer program was supposed to met me at the airport, but nobody was there.  I walked back in forth searching for my name on one of those little placards about 10 times.  Then luckily I saw a man wearing a Hilton uniform.  He tried to help me by calling the volunteer guys cell phone a few times, but there was no answer. 

I asked him if he could check and make sure I had reservations at the Hilton.  He got a print out of the names, and luckily I was on the list.  So, in the end he got a taxi for me and everything turned out fine.  (Hopefully these volunteer people will be more organized in the future though.)

I haven’t seen much of Africa yet, but so far I’ve noticed how nice and helpful the people seem.  When we pulled up to the hotel 1 guy opened the door, one guy opened the trunk, and one guy took my bags.  The Hilton is pretty nice and it seems like there are 100’s of friendly workers in immaculate uniforms waiting to help.  (There was even someone posted at the door of the internet place, so I wouldn’t have to strain myself by opening the door.) 

Well, I’ve only been in Kenya for about 1 hour, so I don’t really have anything interesting to report.



Mom & Dad says:

Hey K- So glad to hear you made it in one piece! Don’t get too spoiled at the Hilton….you’ll be camping in a month. :- ) It was so great to have you home for a few weeks this summer. Even though you aren’t always the easiest person to live with, it was fun spending time with you. We love you soooooooo much! A wonderful new adventure awaits you in Africa and I’m anxious to hear & read all about it. We are proud of you. Stay safe. Love, Mom and Dad



Leave a comment

et cetera